Just In: House of Reps Ex-Deputy Speaker Dumps APC Hours to Party’s National Convention

  • After losing the APC’s governorship ticket to Governor Oyetola, Lasun Yusuff, a former deputy speaker of the House of Reps has taken a new step
  • Yusuff on Friday, March 25, announced his exit from the ruling party but kept mute on which party he is moving to next
  • However, the chairman of the APC in Osun state, Kola Olabisi, is yet to be aware of Yusuff’s move, according to his media aide

Osogbo, Osun state – Lasun Yusuff, a former deputy speaker of the House of Representatives, has resigned from the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The former lawmaker submitted his resignation from the ruling party at its state secretariat in Osogbo on Friday, March 25, The Punch reported.

The newspaper quoted Yusuf as confirming his exit from the APC when contacted:

Yusuff’s exit from the ruling party has also been reported by Nigerian Tribune.

vostvnaija recalls that Yusuff contested for the APC governorship ticket during the February 19 primaries.

He and Moshood Adeoti, the aspirant backed by the minister of interior, Rauf Aregbesola, lost the ticket to the incumbent governor, Adegboyega Oyetola.

Osun APC chairman not aware of Lasun Yusuff’s exit

It was gathered that the media aide to the Osun APC chairman, Kola Olabisi, said the chairman was unaware of Yusuf’s resignation

The ruling party is having its elective national convention in Abuja on Saturday, March 26.

Osun 2022: Three political parties lose out as INEC publishes list of candidates

Meanwhile, ahead of the July 16 governorship election in Osun state, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) said it will only publish the particulars of 15 out of the 18 guber candidates.

INEC national commissioner and chairman, information and voter education, Festus Okoye made this known in a statement released in Abuja on Thursday, March 24, and shared on the commission’s Twitter page.

According to Okoye, the electoral body will not publish the nominees of the Action Alliance (AA); African Democratic Congress (ADC) and All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) for the Osun governorship election.

Get in Touch


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Related Articles


Get in Touch


Latest Posts