Osun State Elections Update and Results (video)

Thugs arrested with guns during Osun election

Davido has applauded residents of Osun State for rejecting vote-buying in the ongoing governorship election in the state.

Davido said residents in some parts of the state rejected money given to them in exchange for their votes.

In a tweet, Davido wrote: “People rejecting money being offered to them left and right of the state today. Great to see there is still hope for Nigeria.”

Speaker Osun State House of Assembly, Rt.Hon.Timothy Owoeye casts his vote at unit 6 ward 10 Oro Ajimoko primary school, Orogba Ilesa

Voters at Ward 07 Alagba, PU 003, Osogbo, discussing how party agents gave them money after voting

Osun Guber Election: Voting going smoothly but party agents are helping voters cast their votes in Polling Unit 005, Ward 02, Amola Ikirun LGA

Ilesha West LGA
Voting is going smoothly.
BVAS machine is working well.

Officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission complain of personal shortage at PU05, Ward 8, Asalu, Isokan LGA

As voters complain about the slow pace of the process, the presiding officer said it is due to a shortage of personnel.

Voters bemoan the “slow” pace of the voting process at PU 5, Ward 5, Ikire-Ile/Iwara, Olaoluwa LGA.

Voting in Saturday’s Osun state governorship poll commenced at about 8:40 at Ward 3, Unit 7, Isale Osun, Osogbo, with the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, prioritising persons with disabilities, aged and pregnant women.

Two separate queues were formed with PWDS, the aged and pregnant women staying in a line, while other voters were in the second queue.

Bimodal Voter Accreditation System however did not however detect the thumb of a physically challenged, Olatunde Adio, who was given the right to vote first.

Incumbent Governor, wife vote

Gboyega Oyetola, governor of the state and APC candidate, has just cast his vote alongside his wife, Kafayat.

No voting presently as INEC’s Bimodal Voter Accreditation System (BVAS) is not working at ward 11 Obagun, Unit 6, Ifelodun Local Government Area.

Osun Governorship Election

A 92-year- old woman casts her vote moments ago at Polling Unit 002, Ward 6, Baptist Primary School 1, Isore/Ikonifin, in Ola-Oluwa LGA.

Ademola Adeleke, the governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, in the Osun election, has cast his vote at the ongoing Osun State governorship election.

He cast his vote at Unit 009, Ward 02, Abogunde/Sagba, Ede North in Osun State at about 8:50 am.

Osun guber: Voting commences in Ofatedo

Accreditation and voting have commenced at unit 005, ward 10, Ofatedo, Egbedore Local Government Area in Osun

The exercise commenced at 8:30 am, an official stated.

Security operatives were seen as people who came in numbers to exercise their franchise.

In some areas in Osogbo monitored by DAILY POST, as of 8:16 am, accreditation has not started.

At Old Governor’s office, unit 20 ward 4, accreditation has not started, while many people who have seen their names on the list have queued.

Voters already seated, INEC officials are prepping at Alajue Ward 5 Unit 1, Aisu in Ede.

Voters check register at Oyetola’s PU [PHOTOS]

The Voter’s register has been pasted at Boripe 06, Ward 3: Unit 15 and voters are checking their details.

This is the polling unit of Governor Gboyega Oyetola.

EFCC operatives storm Osun to curb vote buying [PHOTO]

Operatives of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) have stormed Osun State to curb vote buying in the Osun governorship election.

As at 8:15am on Saturday, the operatives were still at the Freedom Park, Old Garage, Osogbo, the State capital.

The stage is set for the residents of Osun State, South West Nigeria, to choose who will pilot their affairs for the next four years.

As it is in every democratic setting, the people will exercise their rights to pick their next governor through the governorship election which comes up on Saturday, 16 July 2022.

The top contenders will battle for who becomes the 10th governor of the state since the creation of the state in 1991.

There are 15 candidates in the race for the state’s Government House and one of them is the incumbent Governor, Adegboyega Oyetola, who is seeking a second term in office.

The Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, one of the major political parties in the election, has retained the same candidate it presented in the last election, Ademola Adeleke.

Meanwhile, campaigns for the election have not gone down without cases of violence in different parts of the state, especially the capital, Osogbo.

Experts say that about 16 cases of violence has been reported in the state including the assassination of the Chairman of the All Progressives Congress, APC, in one of the local government areas.

The 15 candidates include Akinade Akanmu Ogunbiyi, representing the Accord Party; the African Action Congress candidate is Awojide Peter Segun; Kehinde Munirudeen Olumuyiwa A Atanda is bearing the flag of the Action Democratic Party; Adegboyega Isiaka Oyetola for the APC; the Allied Peoples Movement presented Awoyemi Oluwatayo Lukuman; Adebayo Adeolu Elisha for the All People’s Party; Adeleke Adesoji Masilo Aderemi Adedapo for the Boot Party; Yussuff Sulaimon Lasun, Labour Party; Rasaq Oyelami Saliu for the New Nigeria Peoples Party; National Rescue Movement has Abede Adetona Samuel as its flagbearer; PDP has Adeleke Ademola Jackson Nurudeen as its flagbearer; Peoples Redemption Party: Ayowole Olubusuyi Adedeji; Social Democratic Party: Omigbodun Oyegoke Akinrinola; Young Progressives Party: Ademola Bayonle Adeseye; and Zenith Labour Party: Adesuyi John Olufemi.

1. There are five major contenders this year.

They are 1. Adegboyega Oyetola of the APC. He promised that if re-elected, he would reinforce the state security system and empower the police force.

2. Omigbodun Akinrinola Oyegoke of the Socio Democratic Party. He said that his focus would be on reviving trade and investment in the state if elected as the governor.

3. Ademola Adeleke of the PDP. Adeleke has promised to fix the roads, hospitals, agriculture, and bring about other infrastructural developments if he wins.

4. Yusuff Sulaimon Lasun of the Labour Party. Yusuff Lasun says he wants to focus on reforming the education sector for Osun State.

5 . Akin Ogunbiyi of the Accord Party.

Akin Ogunbiyi has promised to bring businesses and investments that would boost the state’s economy and create jobs for the youth.

Follow this thread for results, and update from the Osun State governorship election. #Osundecides2022

Get in Touch


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Related Articles


Get in Touch


Latest Posts